Coop Witches, 1999 and 2001

Coop is a hot-rod artist based in Los Angeles, best known for his Devil Girls (see the Wikipedia entry on him here). He has created a couple of witch-images and he provided the inspiration for Zille The Witch’s delightful “starter tattoo” (see here). As Zille explained on feedback to this blog

I was casting about for what to do for my first tattoo, when I saw a Coop drawing of his infamous “devil girl” with the same three genital peircings as I had, and she had three pubic curls on her mons, and I realized with delight that they were not just sylized curls, but also “666″ (what else would a devil girl wear?). It reminded me how, during witchcraft trials, women would be shaved all over, looking for “the devil’s mark.” “Well,” I thought to myself, “I’ll make it easy for them, since I already shave!” and thus it all came about.

As you can see below, Coop likes his witches with a tattoo and has his own—very traditional—recommendation for a design. As you can also see, Coop likes his models with a bit of flesh on their bones!

These two designs are printed on stickers. If you go here you can buy your own and plaster them on your car, bike, board etc. Or try here for a book of Coop’s art. Have fun!

4 Responses to “Coop Witches, 1999 and 2001”

  1. That’s it, I’m on a diet as of yesterday.

  2. Coop’s got a nice deviant style, but got to say, skinny, petite witches are a lot less work.

  3. The blog was absolutely fantastic! Lots of great information and inspiration, both of which we all need!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

