Owen Smith’s Witching Hour, 2000

This is the cover of The New Yorker from 6 November 2000. The artwork is by Owen Smith and is titled “Witching Hour.”

On 8 September Annie left feedback here asking me whether I knew of a picture from a magazine that she had “held onto for years but can’t track it down again. It’s a pin up witch flying across the moon, but it’s sort of a double image and from a distance it looks like a skull. I loved it, just wondering if you know it.”

As you can see, I do know it, and I love it too. The strapless dress, the cat, the choker: it is all good.

And as you can also see, I do sometimes respond to requests, despite what I said during the week. What can I say, except Annie did ask nicely, and she did say that my site is “absolutely fabulous”! So I guess you really can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.

7 Responses to “Owen Smith’s Witching Hour, 2000”

  1. That was a clever composition.

  2. Grumpy Pumpkin Says:

    I love this picture, because of the pumpkin of coarse, not because of the sexy witch. How do you find all this stuff? The only place I can find it is on your site.

  3. Ooh, very nice!

  4. Lightdragon Says:

    yeah very nice.

  5. What a great sexy witch! I love everything about it – the color, the texture… Amazing cover, and while ten years old, still great to see an image crafted with hand and eye that breathes life into the subject of sexy witches.

  6. Yago Sangria Says:

    pretty pretty pretty good

  7. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.

    You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your
    blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

