My Collection of Witchy Movies

After looking at the list of witchy films at Exclamation Mark: Vintage SciFi/Horror Film Reviews I thought it might be a good idea to offer up a list of my own. So, here are two dozen films I have on DVD. The list of films I still want to get is getting smaller, but each film is getting much harder to find (like Secret Rites of 1972 featuring Alex Sanders).

Although I have them, I haven’t included kid’s films like The Witching of Ben Wagner or the Harry Potter series; TV serials like Bewitched, Buffy, Charmed and Sabrina the Teenage Witch; or anime like Maburaho, that simply include witches. Perhaps I will do a more complete list, in separate categories, another time.

I will also write reviews of most of these films eventually, but this must wait until I find decent images to go with them. BTW: the first review will probably be the most important of all film treatments of witchcraft (I Married a Witch); since I already have some lovely images of Veronica Lake, I will probably do this review fairly soon.

Haxan [aka Witchcraft through the Ages (1921)
I Married A Witch (1942)
Bell, Book and Candle (1958)
The Wizard Of Oz (1939)
Horror Hotel (1960)
Le Masque du Démon [aka Black Sunday] (1960)
The Naked Witch (1961)
Burn Witch, Burn [aka Night of the Eagle] (1962)
The Devil’s Hand [aka Witchcraft] (1962)
Witchcraft (1964)
The Witches [aka The Devil’s Own] (1967)
The Witchfinder General [aka Conqueror Worm (1968)
Legend of the Witches (1970)
Witchcraft ‘70 (1970)
Simon, King of the Witches (1971)
Virgin Witch (1972)
Season of the Witch [aka Jack's Wife] (1973)
Hocus Pocus (1993)
The Craft (1996)
The Blair Witch Project (1998)
Practical Magic (1998)
The Blair Witch Project 2–Book Of Shadows (2000)
Witch Hunter Robin (2004)
Bewitched (2005)

[UPDATE 10 July 07: see here for a longer list of witches in films]

10 Responses to “My Collection of Witchy Movies”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Nice list, great site, but, no Black Sunday (aka The Mask of Satan)? Barbara Steele is Queen.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Oh, wait. It’s right there. Maybe I should wake before posting. Still, great site.

  3. Red Witch Says:

    Thanks for the suggestion: I have added Black Sunday as an aka title above. And, yes, Barbara Steele is pretty cool.

    BTW: since my post I have already added to my DVD collection, and watched, Blood Orgy of the She Devils (1972). The film contains one Mara, the “Queen of the Black Witches”, but I will save it, and any other new acquisitions, for a later post.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I’m looking through your list to see if there are any that I would recommend.

    Let’s see: Suspiria and Inferno by Dario Argento are based around a witch cult and their discovery.

    The Woods with Agnes Brucknber, where she discovers a witch cult.

    Sleepy Hollow has a promenent witch storyline in it (the Witch of the Western Woods, Katrina Van Tassel’s interest in witchcraft)

    There is an early 70’s film called Hex about two witchy sisters who encounter bikers at the turn of the century. They are more like natural witches, in that they are connected to nature and have various powers, but they are witches nevertheless.

    The Witches of Eastwich have witches pretty prominently.

    There is a tv movie sequel to the Wizard of Oz called Lost In Oz that features an adult Dorothy returning to a crushed Oz. I believe the Wicked Witch returns for that. As well, Return to Oz has another witch in it.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Oh, and btw – check out the comic The Experts, for the cute heroine Ninja Witch!

    http://expertscomic.blogspot.com/

  6. Persephone Says:

    There’s a made for TV movie, starring Sarah Chalke, called “I’ve Been Waiting for You.” It’s a cut above for a TV movie, and the story was twisty enough to keep my interest. Catch it on cable.

  7. I see I need to expand my witches collection!

  8. This turned up on ask.metafilter.com and may be of interest:

    Midnight Offerings
    http://poll.imdb.com/title/tt0082745/

    Looks like the whole thing’s on youtube, too.

    Part 1:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1hZBACY0ms

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Also, there is “Sex of the Witch,” an Italian softcore movie from 1973.

  10. Marshall Crist Says:

    I am really looking forward to Anna Biller’s proposed “sex witch” movie. NSFW

    http://www.lifeofastar.com/blog.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

