Coloured Tam O’Shanter postcards

In my previous post on Robert Burns’ ‘Tam O’Shanter’ I mentioned that the engravings published in 1855 were probably the most frequently reprinted illustrations to that poem. I showed only three of John Faed’s six illustrations; the three that freature the winsome witch, Nannie, in her “cutty sark” (mini-skirt). Here is the full set, coloured, as they appear on a series of postcards called ‘Scenes from Tam O’Shanter’. These polychrome postcards were issued in the Valentine Series about 1910; the cards were reprinted in monochrome a number of times up to 1960 (these will be the subject of a another post).

[UPDATE 20 September 2008: I have now embedded links to larger versions of the above images]

3 Responses to “Coloured Tam O’Shanter postcards”

  1. Roberto Says:

    Hi, I would like to buy the Mitch Byrd’s drawing posted on your blog, Is it for sale? Thank you and greetings from Rome, Italy.
    All the best,
    Roberto

  2. Bob Harvey Says:

    I really enjoy your site. Its infomitive and entertaining. I found it by accident and I’m glad I did. Thank you.

  3. john reid Says:

    I have a black and white copy of the 6 postcards in a headed envelope which were passed on by my wife’s grandmother. Are they of any value

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

